Everyday calls for a social roulette with all kinds of social media platforms dedicated for various needs. I myself have been so reliant to these platforms that I never use sms or text messaging to communicate anymore.

Indeed, social media is everything you need in one place. You could shop, locate people, find restaurants and even study with the help of social media. I survived a year in the University of the Philippines, thanks to various apps in my phone like Facebook, messenger, YouTube, twitter and Gmail that helped me learn and communicate. I could also store files, every now and then and get fresh updates from professors and classmates about school works.

Maybe this won’t sound good when I say that social media has helped me to be more confident since it is still like hiding behind a screen but some aspects of it has helped me become a better version of myself. Before when I never had a Facebook account, I was camera shy and awkward at all group and family photos. But now I am more natural and outgoing.

Of course just like everything else, social media is a double-edged sword. They say, the more connected are we to the internet world, the more disconnected we are in the real world. For me the root of the disadvantages of using social media is being too reliant on it. We put too much trust on these platforms that we even forget to guard our own privacy. Recently my Facebook account was hacked and i was lucky enough to retrieve it although I had a hard time because I never touch my privacy and security settings. It always boils down on using it properly, not to be harmed or to be of harm to others.

The responsibility would always lie on our hands. We can’t control what others do but we can manage to watch out for ourselves. To end, I would like to share my personal commitment statements for the responsible use of social media.

I would be mindful and critical on the things I see and read on social media.

I would protect my privacy before I protect others.

I would promote healthy use of social media by reflecting it to all my accounts in all platforms.

Leave a comment

nowrites

“A lesson learned should be a lesson shared”

Write&Read

Personal blogs for educational purposes

Anne Trizzia's

Live your life, do not regret. . .

Pieces of Emie

a glimpse of my activities

June's

Not-so-interesting Blog

UNUTTERED THOUGHTS

Some thoughts goes unuttered

Jimmy Writes

Read my story, be in my story

Discover WordPress

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

The Atavist Magazine

Read my story, be in my story

Longreads

Longreads : The best longform stories on the web

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started